Henkei Convoy Add-on KO

After that lovable Henkei Convoy, now it’s time to review its add-on.

I also bought two add-on for my Henkei Convoy / Classic Optimus Prime which are TFX-01J DIA Commander and BTS-01s Mobile Command Base, and both are knocked off versions. I admit, I can’t buy the original releases because they are painfully expensive. Very very very expensive. Even for this KO versions, both are already pricy and together with Henkei Convoy KO are the most expensive KO figures I ever buy.

BTS-01s Mobile Command Base (in short I will call it later, BTS trailer) is a trailer for Henkei Convoy. The design is not an ordinary trailer, but rather BTS took different approach by adding some futuristic shapes to match the “classic” incarnation of Optimus Prime. Did I ever told people that “What Optimus Prime would be without his trailer?” So this is a nice trailer for him. I have to say I really like the design a bit. At first I felt it’s strange, but I appreciate the effort BTS took.

Optimus Prime in vehicle mode looks complete with this trailer. It’s long, big, futuristic, and a kind of Optimus we often see because Optimus is always lacking without his trailer. My only complain for this trailer is that the connector port to Henkei Convoy is not that tight. Often I got the trailer separated because the connector is not that strong to hold both. Other than that, I am pleased to see this.

This trailer can be opened and reveal Mobile Command Base. Unlike other trailers that accompany Optimus, this trailer follows unorthodox style that it’s not separated in the middle of the trailer. Hence the name, it’s indeed a command base complete with repair drone. This trailer also gives two blasters which unfortunately not for Optimus (to Bumblebee if I’m not mistaken), but who cares, Optimus still can use it anyway.

This trailer also has Roller (or Rollout Drone to avoid copyright issues) which attached as trailer’s wheels. The idea is great but I wish the wheels and Roller are actually separated, still I have no complain for that.

Well, except for that connector problem, I am satisfied with this trailer. Big rig is always incomplete without a trailer.

On to the next….

The second add-on is TFX-01J DIA Commander by FansProject. Actually I would love to have Ultra Magnus and City Commander add-on, but since Optimus Prime is my favorite, having DIA Commander is truly a great experience. I am okay with this now, because DIA Commander looks menacing and cool.

TFX-01J is a trailer to Henkei Convoy (or classic Optimus Prime, gee, I refer him as Convoy more than as Optimus Prime) that makes his set looks like a garbage truck. Yes, a garbage truck. What else I could describe with this kind of vehicle except a colorful, missile armed garbage truck. I already applied stickers to some parts needed though I find it quite useless.

This trailer separates into several parts to become an armor for Optimus/Convoy and create DIA Commander. Yes, this one actually recolor version of City Commander for Ultra Magnus. The separation and assembling the armor proved to be a difficult task to do. It’s very complicated and need excessive force a little bit.

Before I praise this set, let’s criticize. As a knock off add-on, this set is very fragile. I already broke folding part from his right foot because I turned it too much. And I have serious problems with his right hand and his right shoulder. They are not locked and fitted very well to the figure. Very loose. Another problem is that it can’t hold that big weapon very well due to being heavy and the joint can’t hold that.

Now for the good parts, this add on is superb. DIA Commander (DIA stands for Diaclone actually, a toyline that inspire Transformers) looks super powerful. Considering complicated assembly and weight issues, this add-on makes the figure has limited articulation. This set also gives two missile launcher and an energon box (which I don’t use because it’s useless anyway). Given the fact that this is a knock off with all terrible problems I found, it is a great feature. The vehicle mode is nice, DIA Commander looks powerful. It’s a good feature, and for a knock off I am really satisfied. I know I can’t pose him much since it’s almost a brick. But, isn’t that a great figure to be displayed only? People will notice this figure easily on display cabinet.

Both are great sets but I wish I could buy the original releases. If you can afford please buy the original. But still, I am so happy with both…

About edriasandika

- Lecturer - Blogger - Popular Culture Fan - Figure Collector - Model Kit enthusiast

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Figureview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

