Voyager Class Henkei Convoy / Classic Optimus Prime KO

After months of waiting, finally I get this wonderful figure together with DIA Commander upgrade and BTS Classic Trailer set (and both also KO). I will review those set after this one. Henkei Convoy is actually Takara release of Classic Optimus Prime mold with better paint job. I just can’t imagine how impressive this figure is. Henkei Convoy is modernized version of G1 Optimus Prime (which ironically called as “classic”) and this figure, again, is wonderful.

I have a long story to get this figure. When my interest in Transformers emerged, Classic Optimus was not one of my targets because I had no idea about Classic series or Henkei Henkei until every TF fanboys I know told me that the best Optimus Prime figure that only can match (or even surpass) Masterpiece release is this classic line in voyager class size. Damn, they were right. When I started to find this I had two facts, Classic Optimus Prime is rare as hell  and actually it has third party upgrade. When I knew the fact that Classic and Henkei lineup is a rare figure to find (with OMG price tag) I just pissed off. There is no way people will sell this figure due to its quality.

Then, I saw Ultra Magnus upgrade called City Commander by FansProject whose price also beyond madness. I was wondering if people ever made knocked off version and to my surprise, there are lots of KO for this figure.

Then, long story short, I found someone who can help me to get I what I have dreamed for long. There is a very high quality knock off of Henkei Convoy available, but I have to wait for months due to certain regulations of importing stuff like this. And finally, it has arrived!

This figure, I don’t know how to start from. I never own the original Hasbro or Takara release but I have to say the quality is even better than all Optimus figures I own. The joints are very tight, no loose parts, no more sh*tty problems usually found on KO figure. Even it is very tight that I have difficulties in twisting, separating, or joining parts in transformation, notably from the weapons. Just look at it. It’s an art, a masterpiece (no pun intended) of its own. The fact that this figure solely depends on transformation gimmick makes this figure very valuable in every aspects. No spring loaded weapon, no strange weapon lights, it’s just a plain yet magnificent figure to play with. Not to forget it has light pipe gimmick which is small but added more wonderful things in here.

Am I being biased by this description? No, in fact my words are not enough to describe how awesome this figure is. That great design, that great ratchet joints, that tight mechanism, that great sculpt, oh my, I love love love this figure so much. I never do such thing ever to knock off figure until this one. Better than most of my collection, in fact.

Vehicle mode, this Optimus is a big rig, a good interpretation on how modern Optimus would be. Its paint job also helped to capture this kind of imagination. Unlike Habro release which has too much yellow-ish paint to certain useless parts, this figure follows Henkei release pattern to make reminiscence of G1 Optimus in retrospect. And look at that chrome grills, it’s beautiful.

Transforming this figure is not easy but satisfying. Its mechanism is very good, you’ll have no problem transforming it. Its wind roof and smokestacks can be transformed into blasters. This gimmick is simple but that’s what I want from a transforming toy.

This figure is superb, note that he is actually a knocked off version, a very high quality knock off figure, ever. Modernized G1 proved to be a great design for this line. Just a great great looking robot. And since he is Optimus Prime, so this is the best incarnation ever. Not to forget, the light pipping mechanism works really well.

This is a piece of art, this is a masterpiece, and even this is a knock off figure. I am so happy to finally own Henkei Convoy after long waiting. Yes it is not cheap at all. Probably this is the most expensive KO toy I ever buy, but the quality really worth the price. I am not only satisfied but also really adore this figure a lot.

I have to thank my friend Dimas for making my wishlist come true. For those who are interested to order this figure you may contact his Facebook here >>http://www.facebook.com/dimas.a.sasongko<<

About edriasandika

- Lecturer - Blogger - Popular Culture Fan - Figure Collector - Model Kit enthusiast

Posted on April 4, 2013, in Figureview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

