Cyberverse Beast Hunters Optimus Prime

This is the cyberverse version of Beast Hunters Optimus Prime. As the final season will be premiered on March 22, I still have no idea whether Optimus indeed will have new body or someone takes his place (body) as the trailer leads me to “a new Prime, or Optimus revived by having someone sacrified his/her spark to him? Ah, I am so curious and can’t wait.


This figure is really different from his voyager counterpart, very different. And as I previously stated, somehow this is the show-accurate design of his Beast Hunters incarnation, closer if it is not the same. For me as collector, show-accuracy is essential and this figure gives me that impression, unlike the previous voyager.


His vehicle mode is quite okay. For a beast hunter kind of figure, this Optimus Prime is really spiky, but not my cup of tea actually. Still, it looks real nice and attract attentions when displayed. Simple, spiky, and menacing, that’s my impression on this vehicle. This is Optimus Prime as we are familiar with, retains the glory of red-blue big truck, only this time with “beast” gimmick.


For this small figure, the transformation is complicated. Surprising yet satisfying. I thought the complexity of the transformation would be similar to his previous cyberverse figure, but I was wrong. it’s more….


The robot mode is great, and yes I will pose him as robot rather than as vehicle. Very different from voyager and it has its own charisma. The weapons although made from soft plastic and just plain grey, work perfectly with the figure. Repaint the weapons might do the job. Anyway, the robot mode is the strongest point of this figure. He looks perfect for a cyberverse figure.


While this figure is already that great, I have one complain that hurts this figure a lot. While his articulation somewhat limited, why the hell it doesn’t have head articulation? The previous Cyberverse Prime has satisfying articulation and the head is moveable. Why Hasbro, why? I am okay with limited articulation and the look of his back (yes, it’s horrible), but without head articulation, I will give a lot of minus points on this. It’s sad because his head sculpt is very good and superior than voyager’s head version.


Is it worth? I say, yes! With notes!

There are lots that yet to be desired. This is the point where Hasbro (or Takara) stands between great and horrible, between success and failure. If only they designed it a little bit better. This figure looks great in design but fails in several aspects, and that’s crucial. Still, this Optimus Prime and I am a Optimuses-Fetish collector, so I don’t care. Even, who cares anyway?

About edriasandika

- Lecturer - Blogger - Popular Culture Fan - Figure Collector - Model Kit enthusiast

Posted on March 11, 2013, in Figureview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

