Voyager Class Beast Hunters Optimus Prime

A major upgrade, and this one really an upgrade we need. And I think this is the second time I get a figure while the character itself is not yet appeared on the series. TF Prime season 3 will start this spring (oh my, Indonesia has no idea about spring, summer, fall, or winter).

Previously I have reviewed Voyager TF Prime Optimus Prime RiD and that figure is just bad, real bad. Fortunately, his Beast Hunters incarnation proves the other way. This figure is the complete opposite, no more stupid gimmick, no more painful transformation, and no more ridiculous weaponry. This figure answered all complaints from the previous lineup. This figure has soft plastic for the wings and the claw, I don’t mind it at all. It could be better but ah, that safety regulations…..

His vehicle mode is menacing. Actually I don’t like a kind of vehicle that is not based on real vehicle, but this one I can say I like it a lot. Truly a beast in every senses. The weapons can be attached to the vehicle and that’s just great.

This figure has wings, and it makes me wonder. A truck that can fly?

Transforming this figure is easy but I have to say, still impressive.

His robot mode is fantastic with one complain on the head. His head sculpt is not that good but I understand why Hasbro did that.

Other than that, this figure has a lot of play values. The articulations are good, even got ratchet joints on the shoulders and feet. Weapons can be stored on his back or attached to his both hands, and they have lot of options how they will be used. This figure is poseable at his best.

If only my real complain does count, and indeed this is my serious complain, why this figure is not show-accurate? I saw Optimus’ design from the box and he is different than this voyager class design. In fact the design of his cyberverse version is closer, if not the same, to the design of actual Optimus Prime in his Beast Hunters incarnation. Oh well, my complain is useless this time because this figure is already that great. In fact, this is a good decision by Hasbro.

If you can, grab it!

About edriasandika

- Lecturer - Blogger - Popular Culture Fan - Figure Collector - Model Kit enthusiast

Posted on February 28, 2013, in Figureview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

